Aussie Slangs

The moment I packed my bags and decided to come to Australia, I was feeling pretty good, excited and confident with the knowledge I had of english.

But as soon as I landed in Vegemite territory, I was like “WHAT?! this is a whole new language!”, I heard people talking but I could not fully understand what they were saying.

Aussie Sign

I found their accent very strong, so took me a little bit of time to get use to it, also, they use so much slang, that most of the words coming out of my mouth were: “What?, Sorry, Can you repeat that?, I didn’t get that”, or I just simply smiled and pretended it was all cool.

Then, as I started getting more confident with the language, I realized that some people had this weird look in their faces while I talk, this was (and sometimes still is) thanks to the American english I carry from when I studied in Mexico.

Now, after four and a half years, I find myself talking like an Aussie (but with my Mexican accent hmmmm….)

Here are some of the slangs I am now very familiar with.

Slangs

Print

El momento en el que hice mis maletas y decidi venirme a Australia, me sentia muy bien, emocionada y muy segura del nivel de ingles con el que contaba.

Pero tan pronto como aterrice en tierras de los amantes del Vegimite, me sentí super confundida, era completamente un nuevo idioma. Escuchaba gente hablar pero no podia entender completamente lo que decian.

Encontré el acento Australiano muy fuerte, así que tomo un tiempo el acostumbrarme a el, ademas, aquí las personas al hablar usan muchísimo slang o modismos, así que la mayoría de palabras y frases que salían de mi fueron: “What?, Sorry, Can you repeat that?, I didn’t get that”o simplemente contestaba con una sonrisa y pretendí que en efecto, entendí todo perfectamente (jaja).

Poco tiempo después, al estar mas acostumbrada al idioma, me di cuenta que muchas personas me miraban con una expresión rara en sus caras cada vez que yo trataba de tener una conversación, esto gracias al ingles Americano que aprendí en Mexico.

Actualmente, después de cuatro y medio años, me sorprendo al encontrarme hablando como toda una Aussie (pero claro, con el acento Mexicano, hmmm… )

Aquí están varios slangs Australianos con los cuales estoy familiarizada.

beware

One thought on “Aussie Slangs

Leave a Reply

