looking for free WiFi

Sixty Days Living of Free WiFi

The moment we decided to live a simple life couldn’t have been more perfect. Everything lined up: found the van, the house lease was coming to an end almost at the same time as the mobile and internet contracts.

The internet contract was due to be renewed for another two years on the 12th of May, I cancelled it on the 9th. We also restricted our mobile data, and since then, we have been living of free WiFi.

I remembered when I started telling people that Mark and I were about to start a new and mobile life, they all seemed surprised. But when I told them i would not longer have my unlimited internet… they were absolutely shocked.

Nowadays things are more digital, every day even more, it is that way how we communicate, have fun and get informed. I’m not going to lie, the thought of not having limitless broadband had me a little nervous, but since I still have an office job, I always thought that I wouldn’t really be without internet one hundred percent.

The thing is, yes, I have internet at work or I can visit a McDonalds but the fact is that I get so busy at work that sometimes there is no time to be browsing online and I don’t really feel like going to Maccas every evening.

When we need internet, we get it from cafes, shopping centres and the library.Β We find ourselves connected to the internet whenever is available even if we don’t need it.

We thought of getting a hot spot for the van, just so we can download documentaries and tv shows but we haven’t got into that as yet, I guess it will happen at some point, but at this time, internet doesn’t seem to be that important and we are enjoying taking a break from it.

I guess for me, the only downside is the fact that I communicate with my family less. That might be the only strong reason to organize a hot spot for the van.

Reality is, living of free internet is not as hard as it might sound. You learn to adjust. We use internet whenever it is available but if there is none, we are not too stressed about it.

 

4 thoughts on “Sixty Days Living of Free WiFi

  1. Fadanista says:

    I am loving following your journey, Kena, and applaud your use of free wifi. I understand the issues and I am a free wifi vagabond when we travel and am amazed at how connected I can remain without it costing a cent. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

